As a victim of personal injury accident, you have a right to seek damages against the party at fault. However, time is of the essence in most personal injury claims and the value or success of your actions depend on how fast you act to protect your claims.
MAKE SURE TO FILE CLAIM EVEN IF THE ACCIDENT IS NOT SERIOUS
There are symptoms that may appear weeks or even months from the date of the accident. Initially, you may feel fine but later you might feel headaches and body pains, which may be due to internal injuries, spine injuries or even head or brain injury. Hence, if you fail to file your claims, you may later find yourself be barred by law from pursuing your claims due to lapse of time.
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS
- Bodily Injuries – There are statutes of limitations in California. For example, for bodily injuries suffered as a result of a personal injury accident, the victim is given only 2 years to file a claim against the party at fault. Beyond this time, you cannot anymore go after the party at fault for your medical bills and other losses.
- Property Damage – On the other hand, for property damage resulting from personal injury accident, the victim is only granted a period of 3 years to file compensation for such damages.
PROBLEMS IN DELAYING YOUR PERSONAL INJURY CLAIMS
Whether you are involved in traffic accident or premise liability accident, you need to pursue your claims as soon as possible. If you dally and wait long, the other party may deny your medical claims because he may say that some or most of your injuries were not anymore accident related.
This is why, after an accident, the first thing that you should do is to get yourself checked out or treated by your family physician or by a medical facility in order to make sure that all your symptoms are determined beforehand.
In any event, you may also seek future medical care from the other party but the same must be based on medical recommendations from your treating physician.
GET YOUR CAR FIXED ASAP
If you are involved in a traffic accident, you should make sure to have your vehicle fixed as soon as you can. There may be other charges that you will personally incur and will have to shoulder if the same is not shouldered by your insurance in case you delay your car repair which include, further repairs on your vehicle, storage or warehousing of your vehicle and car hire.
SEEK MEDICAL TREATMENTS IMMEDIATELY
As mentioned earlier, to make sure that the other party cannot pose a defense that your injuries are unrelated to the accident or the same were aggravated because of your late treatments you need to call paramedics and go to the ER immediately after the accident. Usually, complications of back pain or spine injury or even head injury where surgery or prolonged rehab are required and seeking medical attention could prevent the occurrence of these complications.
MONETARY AND NON-MONETARY CLAIMS FOR PERSONAL INJURIES
In California you are allowed to secure actual and non-monetary damages against the party at fault relative to your property damage, actual medical costs, future medical care, loss of earnings claim, pain and suffering and other losses.
The amount of your claims may reach hundreds of thousands or even millions depending on the seriousness of the accidents and your involved injuries. Hence, filing your claims should be your priority aside from healing yourself completely.
SEEK HELP FROM EXPERT PERSONAL INJURY LAWYERS
Filing a quick claim or suit for your injuries is a priority but it is of equal importance to get the best legal representation available to you like Mesriani Law Group who have vast experience in swiftly filing successful claims against negligent parties in any personal injury accident. Don’t worry about fees because most top notch personal injury law firms can take on your case on contingency basis so you won’t have to worry about your and concentrate on putting your life together again.