California drivers are required by law to carry bodily injury liability insurance. If the driver causes an accident, this insurance will pay for the other party’s expenses. This typically includes medical expenses and other damages.
Common examples of losses covered can include but are not limited to:
- Doctor bills
- Hospital bills
- Emergency room bills
- X-rays or MRIs
- Ambulance bills
- Chiropractor bills
- Occupational or physical therapy
- Short or long-term care
- Dental expenses
- Funeral expenses
If the injured person cannot work due to an injury, bodily injury liability can cover their past lost wages or future earning capacity.
How Much Coverage Do I Need?
When selecting bodily injury liability coverage, state laws generally dictate a minimum coverage limit a driver must carry. In California, drivers must carry a minimum bodily injury liability of:
- $15,000 per death or bodily injury of one person
- $30,000 per accident / for bodily injury of all people hurt or killed
Bodily injury liability insurance only pays damages up to the policy limit. Expenses that exceed the policy limit will need to be paid out of pocket by the driver. To help with this issue, drivers have the option to select a higher policy limit (if offered by their insurance company). Drivers who select higher policy limits have more financial protection in the event of an accident.
What Doesn’t Bodily Injury Liability Cover?
As mentioned, bodily injury liability insurance only overs expenses up to your policy limit. That means the insurance doesn’t any cover costs above it.
Additionally, the insurance also doesn’t cover any property damage such as car repair bills and damages to gates or fences. For this, will need to have another type of coverage called property damage liability insurance.
Am I Required to Have Property Damage Liability Insurance?
Yes, in addition to bodily injury liability insurance, California drivers are required to carry property damage liability insurance to cover losses associated with property damage. The minimum coverage you’ll need is:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person
- $5,000 for property damage
Drivers have the option of selecting higher policy limits but must carry minimum coverage per state requirements.
Should I Hire a Lawyer for my Accident Case?
Insurance adjusters aren’t interested in getting you the largest personal injury settlement amount for your case. Alternatively, they may try to downplay your injuries so they can pay out as little as possible.
If you’ve been injured in an accident, hiring an attorney is the best way to ensure that your interests are protected. Our experienced California accident lawyers will investigate your case and make sure you get the justice you deserve.
Speak with a California Attorney Today
If you or someone you know has been injured in an accident, don’t wait to contact Mesriani Law Group today. With over 20 years of personal injury experience, we’re confident that we can help you with your situation. We offer all clients a No Win No Fee policy – that means if we don’t win your claim, you don’t pay us anything. Contact our office today for your free legal consultation.