How Much Do California Auto Accident Attorneys Charge?

Author: Mesriani Law Group
Posted on: February 19, 2021

Hiring an attorney for your car accident case is an important decision. Not only do you want to hire the best attorney, but you also want to make sure you don’t get taken advantage of.

Many car accident victims hesitate to hire an attorney because of attorney fees. Most personal injury attorneys represent clients on a contingency basis while others will charge an hourly rate.

Here’s what you should know about each type of arrangement:

Hourly Rates Charge

Although uncommon, some car accident attorneys charge clients on a per-hour basis.

This means that you will pay the attorney based on their hourly rate – regardless if they win or lose your case. Depending on the specific case, hourly rates can vary from around $150 per hour to more than $1000 per hour.

Be careful when researching or working with attorneys who charge on a per-hour basis. If a car accident attorney offers to represent you for an hourly rate, it may be a sign that you have a weak case. Additionally, it could be a sign that they’re not confident that they can get you the maximum settlement amount for your case. Since the attorney will get paid regardless of the case outcome, you could end up paying a lot of money without getting any compensation in return.

You can always ask the lawyer why he or she is offering to take your case on an hourly rate basis instead of a contingency basis. Most victims are already on a tight budget after a car accident, so it would be wise to think twice before hiring an attorney who charges an hourly fee.

Contingency Fees 

Many personal injury lawyers represent clients on a contingency basis. Contingency fee attorneys offer clients a guarantee that if they don’t win your case, you don’t need to pay. This “no win, no fee” arrangement is a great option for victims seeking justice but are worried about the monetary costs.

In California, the average fee a personal injury attorney will charge is between 25% to 35% of the settlement amount. If your case goes to mediation or trial, you can expect to pay 40% or more, depending on your specific situation. However, most cases do not end up going to trial.

The fee you pay will be an agreed-upon percentage of your award or settlement. This pre-negotiated amount will vary depending on your case.

Mesriani Law Group represents clients on a contingency basis. That means, if we don’t win your case, you pay absolutely no fee.

Consult with a Car Accident Attorney Today

Hiring the best car accident attorney for your case shouldn’t depend on your ability to pay out of pocket. At Mesriani Law Group, we understand that victims hesitate to hire lawyers because they’re afraid they won’t be able to pay for legal services. To help with this matter, we offer all of our clients a No Win, No Fee guarantee. Our expert car accident attorneys can help you with your case and get you the maximum compensation you deserve. Contact us today for a free consultation.